The Return of the October Cupboard Cookup!

A second post? This early in the month? Must be challenge time!

For some reason, as the seasons turn from Summer into Autumn, my thoughts turn to my store-cupboards. Perhaps it’s a hibernating instinct to ensure that we have enough food in hand to keep us through the sparse winter months ahead, but there’s something about this time of year that makes my tendency to hoard cupboard staples particularly powerful. In an attempt to keep it in check, I’m setting myself a challenge this month. To cook up my cupboard staples ahead of the winter. There’s far too many packets – of pulses, rices and other dried carbs – and tins that have been lurking there since last winter, time to use them up and start afresh.

So that’s the challenge this month, to only buy perishables and to let my diet be shaped by the stuff I already have in the cupboard. Naturally, I’ll be blogging about. Recipe suggestions – especially for what to do with that packet of polenta – gratefully received.

(ETA Make that 2 packets of polenta. One loose, the other ‘ready made’ – why? Who can tell.)

Categories: challenges, October cook-up | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

