List Progression

Slowly and surely, progress is being made. I ended up having to knock one of the recipes off the list, as I’d mistakenly thought I had couscous in the cupboard when in fact it was polenta. However the list is now 20 items long, and I have been making decent progress on cooking up the cupboard contents, though not necessarily from the list.

  1. Dal Paneer Nawabi (Dal Cookbook)
  2. Parsee Dal
  3. Rasam with Gourd and Toor Lentils
  4. Lentil Kutu with Green Beans
  5. Moong Dal with Cauliflower
  6. Flaked Rice with Potatoes/Batate Pohe (India’s Vegetarian Cooking)
  7. Bamboo Shoots in Coconut Milk/Kirla Ghassi
  8. Rice and Mung Stew/Mung Khichdi
  9. Rich Root Soup (Easy Vegetarian)
  10. Lentils and Couscous (Guardian)
  11. Pappardelle with Leek
  12. Pumpkin Curry (Wagamama)
  13. Yasai Dotenabe
  14. Yasai Yaki Soba
  15. Sake Poached Pears
  16. Rosemary and Thyme Focaccia (Packet)
  17. Cheddar Cheese Scones (Lighter Way to Bake)
  18. Bite-sized Pinwheel Snacks
  19. White Chocolate Chunk Cookies
  20. Baked Lentil and Bean Cottage Pie

 

I have made a few things from the list though, largely because last week, I finished compiling my list and was utterly horrified by how little I’d actually cooked off the list so far and went on a bit of a cooking spree. That’s actually harder than it sounds for me, as I tend to bulk cook to accomodate my shifts and we also have a tiny freezer so I have to strike a happy medium between making several days meals at once and making so much of one thing that I scunner myself of the meal in question.

Rich Root Veg

I made the Rich Root Soup, which was very tasty and filling, though mostly brought home to me that I need a proper BIG pot for making soup in, my current large one really isn’t up to the task.

Lentil and 'Couscous'

Then I decided to make the Lentils and Couscous recipe, only to discover that I don’t actually have any couscous in the cupboard. Handily though, the recipe had a variant option where you replace the couscous with brown rice (which I do have in the cupboard) so I made that instead. It was a bit bland, but I suspect the couscous takes on the lime juice flavour more so worth trying again with actual couscous.

Then I had a go at making focaccia. This is actually my second attempt at focaccia – I wasn’t happy with my original attempt so a while back I picked up one of those little flour bags that claim to be bread mix to see if that would work better. No. Nope. Not at all. Total disaster. Wouldn’t rise, wouldn’t cook, I ended up cooking it for twice as long as the recipe recommended and still when I cut it open the dough was still raw inside. Win some, lose some, I guess. Perhaps I should just take it as a sign that I’m not meant to make focaccia…

So four recipes tried; sixteen to go. Clearly I’m not going to make them all before the end of the month, but I’m going to have fun trying to squeeze them all in!

Categories: being veggie, challenges, October cook-up | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

